top of page
  • Writer's pictureKawthar Alrayyan

Getting Ready to Switzerland

With just 10 days until my departure from Virginia Tech to Switzerland to be part of the Graduate Professorate Program 2023 (GPP) with 14 other graduates from VT, I am filled with an abundance of excitement. It has been four long years since my last trip to Europe, which was cut short by the pandemic and the travel restrictions that followed.


The anticipation of immersing myself in the rich history and architecture of European countries, along with experiencing urban life and beautiful nature, is exhilarating.

As an Arab Muslim woman, I am aware that there will be challenges during my travels, especially while navigating new cities and interacting with unfamiliar people. Despite this, I am determined to make the most of this opportunity to broaden my horizons and learn about different cultures.


One of the main highlights of my trip will be visiting various universities in Switzerland, Italy, and France. I am eager to gain detailed insight and first-hand experience of higher education in European universities, comparing them to institutions around the world, especially in the United States.


Another exciting aspect of my upcoming trip to Switzerland is the opportunity to meet new people and make new friends who are also participating in the program. This program will provide a unique platform to connect with individuals from various backgrounds and cultures, all sharing a common passion for higher education.

I am looking forward to the shared experiences, the chance to learn from each other, and the possibility of forming lasting friendships. As we explore new cities, share meals, and participate in cultural activities together, I believe we will have many opportunities to bond and create meaningful connections.


The program not only offers academic growth but also personal growth, as we will navigate the challenges and rewards of traveling and studying in a foreign country together. The shared experiences and memories will create a bond between us that will last long after the program ends.


In summary, I am excited to be part of a community of individuals who share similar goals and interests. I look forward to forming new friendships and connections that will enrich my life and expand my horizons


6 views
bottom of page